Uncategorized

A Simple Recipe

Brie Spinach Dip

Let me just start out by saying that I’m not naturally a great cook. It’s something I’m still working at, and while I’m getting better, I still have the occasional recipe that turns out terribly. Tonight I tried two new recipes for dinner. Once was delicious and one was a flop.

The terrible one was eggrolls. I bought these eggroll wrappers thinking I would bake them instead of fry them for a healthier version of one of my favorite Asian dishes. They got too crispy and they were hard and awful. I’m not convinced it can’t be done though, so I’ll be modifying and trying again.

The delicious recipe was simple, only 3 ingredients. I am a huge fan of simple recipes that are easy and quick to make.  They’re also cheaper! So here is the ultra simple recipe…  (By the way, I hardly ever measure anything. I just estimate and make it up as I go along.)

 Spinach Brie Dip

1 bag of spinach or a big clump of fresh spinach

About a 1/2 tspn of minced garlic, more or less depending on how garlicky you want it

One brie wedge or wheel

1. Wilt spinach in a saucepan and spoon in some garlic. You can use a little olive oil, or add a little of the water from the minced garlic jar. Don’t cook it all the way, just let it get soft.

2. Place the spinach in a baking dish and set the brie on top.

3. Bake for 15 minutes at 350 degrees. The brie will be soft and melted on the inside, so take a knife and break up the hard rind. Mix the melted brie and spinach together and serve with crackers.

I like to use the Ryyvita rye crackers as they are gluten-free. Regular old Triscuits work just fine too!

Leave a Reply

