Uncategorized

Going Gluten Free

gluten free cauliflower pizza crust

I am allergic to gluten, which is such a pain because I love bread. From muffins to pizza crust to pasta, I love my carbs. If I eat gluten, I break out in a rash, bloat so badly that I look like I swallowed a football, and have sinus issues as well. I’m always on the lookout for gluten free recipes and alternative ways to make my favorite foods.

Pizza crust is an absolute nightmare for me. It must be packed full of gluten, because I have an immediate reaction to it. This week I came across a recipe for pizza crust made from cauliflower and since I happened to have a head of cauliflower sitting in my crisper, I gave it a whirl. It was DELICIOUS. I was surprised at how yummy it was and I will definitely by making it again. My husband makes wood-fired pizzas on our Traeger smoker, and I can’t eat them, so the cauliflower pizza was a fabulous alternative for me. Click here for the recipe. I added red pepper flakes to the cauliflower mixture to give it a little kick. 

H and the little pumpkin

I also did a little Halloween decorating today. I got a large pumpkin and a small pumpkin to sit on my porch. I thought about getting two of each to make a little pumpkin “family,” but I didn’t want to spend the money. I want to paint something on them in black, maybe a big E and little e for my family’s last name. I’ll have to check Pinterest for some decorating ideas.

It was perfect weather today and I spent most of the day outside with the kids. My daughter pushed her baby doll in a stroller while I pushed my son in his stroller. I did handstands in the grass and made both kids crack up. I’m proud that I can still do a decent handstand! It was a wonderful day of spending time together and taking it easy. We Southerners are good at that!

Leave a Reply

