Uncategorized

*Almost* Vegan Chili

The only thing non-vegan about this recipe is that I used chicken broth because I had no vegetable broth. It was delicious! Even my 3 year old like it. She picked out the yellow peppers, but liked the corn, zucchini and beans. It was warm and filling and perfect for a cold fall day.

Vegan Chili

1 red pepper, chopped

1 yellow pepper, chopped

1 orange pepper, chopped

2 zucchini, chopped

1 squash, chopped

1 onion, chopped

1 can of cannellini beans (15 oz)

1 can kidney beans (I used dark red)

1 small bag frozen corn

1 can crushed tomatoes (15 oz, I believe- the big one!)

2 cups vegetable broth

4 or 5 cloves of garlic, finely chopped

Garlic salt, cumin, paprika and chili powder to taste. I use a lot because I like it to have a little kick!

Put all ingredients into the crock pot and cook on high for 2 hours, or on low for 4 hours.

I like my veggies to stay firm and not turn into mush, so I only cooked for 2 hours in the crock pot. Also, the crushed tomatoes made it very tomato-ey. Next time I would use a small can of diced tomatoes instead and have more of a broth soup instead of a tomato base.

Leave a Reply

