Uncategorized

DIY Laundry Detergent

Part of my New Year’s Resolution this year is to be more green. By “green” I mean I want to use less, recycle more and make more of my own stuff. I thought a good way to start would be to make my own laundry detergent from a recipe I found on Pinterest. I ended up NOT using the Fels-Naptha soap because my 18 month old has very sensitive skin and I was worried he would get a rash. I used a glycerin soap instead and it seems to work just fine.

Folks, laundry detergent is expensive! This recipe cost me about $7 and should last 3-4 months. I have a Maytag high efficiency washing machine (thank you, Husband) and it works just fine because none of these ingredients are “sudsy.” My clothes came out clean and smelling good, but not artificially fragrant.

The recipe is EASY. Mix the boxes of Borax and washing soda together. Use the cheese grater to grate the bar of soap into the powder mixture. Mix it up until the soap flakes are distributed evenly. Use about two tablespoons per load of laundry or use the scoop that comes with regular detergent.

Leave a Reply

