Uncategorized

Healthier Chocolate Zucchini Bread

image

I had my very first zucchini out of my garden and I wanted to do something special with it. I found Paula Deen’s recipe for chocolate zucchini bread and, let’s face it, Paula Deen is the goddess of Southern cooking. Her recipe was super fattening though, so I made some substitutions. I used applesauce instead of oil and one banana instead of 4 eggs.

Here’s my version:
3 1\4 cups flour
1 1/2 tspn salt
1 tspn nutmeg
2 tspn baking soda
1 tspn cinnamon
2 1/2 cups sugar
1 cup unsweetened applesauce
1 ripe banana
1/3 cup water
1 grated zucchini
1 bag mini semi sweet chocolate chips

Mix all the ingredients together except the zucchini and chocolate chips. Once the others are mixed, add those in. Bake at 350 for one hour.
I made it in a tube cake pan, but it would fill two bread pans. It was seriously delicious, like ridiculously good. You will not be disappointed!

Leave a Reply

