Uncategorized

Domestic Challenge: Homemade Apple Butter

I wanted to do something with all those apples we picked at the orchard, so I thought I would try to make homemade apple butter. I googled some recipes and it didn’t look too complicated, even for someone as domestically challenged as me. I also want to do homemade Christmas gifts this year, and I’m thinking a loaf of homemade bread and a jar of apple butter would be simple and practical. Who doesn’t like homemade goodies? Plus, it’s not the typical hyper-sugary, fat-laden gooey desserts that usually accompany Christmas.

I am happy to report that I canned five jars of apple butter and it wasn’t terribly difficult. Here’s how I did it…

1. Peel and core your apples. This is the hardest part because it’s time-consuming. Once this step is done, it gets easy.

2. Process apples in the food processor so they’re cut up into little pieces. Pour the apple pieces into the crock pot. They will look like this…

3. Add 4 cups of sugar (brown or white), 1 teaspoon cinnamon, 1/2 teaspoon allspice.

4. Cook on low for 10 hours, or whatever is the longest, lowest setting on your crock pot. I started mine in the afternoon and then let them cook all night. They will look like this…

5. Run the apple goop in the food processor to smooth it out and give it a silky texture. It will look like this…

6. Next, you have to put it into sterilized jars to store it. Give your jars a water bath in softly boiling water. Let them sit in the water for 5 or 10 minutes. Use tongs to get them out because they will be hot.

7. Pour your apple butter into the sterilized jars and seal them up. Let them sit for 5 minutes upside down and then flip them right side up. As the glass cools, the jars will seal up. You will hear a POP when the jar seals. Once they’re sealed, you can store them in your pantry until you decide to eat them or give them away.

I can’t wait to decorate my jars with some cute Christmas ribbon and a homemade tag!

One thought on “Domestic Challenge: Homemade Apple Butter

Leave a Reply

