Uncategorized

A Simple Southern Thanksgiving

How was your Thanksgiving? Mine was pretty perfect. It was relaxing, I didn’t burn the food, and I got to spend time with my family and some very good friends who joined us. I decorated, but didn’t go over the top. I’m learning that a simple presentation often packs as much punch as something ornate and expensive.

 

My husband went to Target and bought the tablecloth, napkins and placemats. It was all on sale and the whole set cost $40. I  really liked this set because it’s neutral enough to use for Thanksgiving, Christmas and Easter too. It also looks pretty snazzy with the paint color of my dining room. The flowers came from my work and I took them home with me. The wooden pilgrims belong to my boss and she let me borrow them.

The food was spread out all over the kitchen so I didn’t get a picture but I did do a cute little drink station.

The carafe of cider is a Martha Stewart recipe. I took Simply Apple brand apple juice and put in orange slices and a stick of cinnamon. I let it sit in the refrigerator overnight so the flavors would come out. It was really, really good! The kids could drink it plain and the adults could mix in rum or whiskey. It was so good, I had a few too many glasses!

Leave a Reply

