Uncategorized

Looking forward to Spring…

I enjoy the cold, frosty weather for a few weeks but then I get cranky about it. I like sunshine and being outside, and I like sending my kids outside even more. We can only play games and do crafts so many times before I’m ready for a hike in the woods. We are getting hints of spring here in Georgia; daffodils are blooming and the temperatures are creeping up. I am really looking forward to my garden this year. Last year was my first attempt. I’m adding some things and hoping to have a bigger harvest this year. My garden this year will include:

  • Cucumber
  • Tomato
  • Sugar snap peas
  • Cantaloupe
  • Fiesta Habanero peppers (cuz they’re colorful)
  • Red peppers
  • Zucchini
  • Yellow wax beans (cuz they’re different)
  • Watermelon

20130314_145907

My little herb container garden had a rough winter. My lavender didn’t make it, so I bought a new one. I cannot keep basil alive either, inside or outside. I will buy a new one and try again. My house is like prison camp for basil plants. I feel bad about it. My pineapple mint is hanging on and my rosemary made it through the winter. Hopefully these two will perk up and thrive with some sunshine and warm temps.

20130314_142100

I’m also planning to build a compost pile with chicken wire. My husband says it will redneck up our yard but I don’t care. It’s hidden behind some boxwood trees and can’t be seen from the road. I’ve been composting on and off this winter in a heap with no walls or boundaries. I want to get more serious about it and take ALL of our scraps outside.  Did you know that food thrown into landfills doesn’t decompose in a way that is good for the earth? It actually releases methane gas and contributes to global warming. Having a compost pile improves your soil, is good for the earth and gives you delicious veggies. It also provides a safe place for homeless worms. Just kidding.

Leave a Reply

