Simple Living · Uncategorized

Craft Cabinet DIY

cabwords
I’ve been looking for a storage solution for my kids’ games and craft supplies because they were taking over my desk. I didn’t want to spend a lot of money, of course, and I wanted to brighten up my house at the same time. I didn’t want another piece of brown or black furniture. I looked on Craigslist and didn’t find anything. One morning on my way to work, I stopped at a yard sale and found the perfect piece. It was $50, which is expensive for me, but it was a church yard sale to build a youth center in Puerto Rico so I felt okay about it. I spent about $16 on spray paint, so for $66 I got a cool new piece of furniture that adds a pop of color to my dining room and solves my storage problem. Bam!

cab4

The spray paint I used isn’t supposed to need a primer. I did two coats and it turned out really nicely. I don’t have the patience for priming it and then waiting for it to dry, so spray paint is the way to go if you’re in a hurry like me.

cab5

It fits all the games, paint, ribbons, workbooks, coloring books and miscellaneous kid stuff just right!

cab6

This is my dining room and you can see the start of my photo gallery. I mod podged 11×14 pictures onto canvases I got on sale at Michael’s. The goal is to fill the whole wall up. Ignore the ugly dog crate. There’s no good place to hide that thing!

Leave a Reply

