Jesus · Uncategorized

Ain’t Nobody Got Time for That or Why I Don’t Care About Gay Marriage…

I shy away from political posts, mostly because I don’t want to read the comments from people who troll the internet looking to pick a fight with anyone who disagrees with them. I don’t say much about my political opinion because then I have to listen to other people’s opinions and I really don’t care. It’s not like we’re going to change each other’s minds.
I may regret this, but I’m going to weigh in on the gay marriage debate. Actually I’m going to say that I couldn’t care less about gay marriage. I get why some Christians get all bent out of shape about it. I mean, it’s sexual sin and Christians looooooove to yap about sexual sin. Abortion, pre-marital sex, adultery…. oh how Christians get their feathers in a flutter about these. But gay marriage, oh gay marriage, for some reason you incite Christians to displays of wrath above all others. I can’t for the life of me figure out why that is.
Did you know that rates of divorce are just as high in the church as in the secular world? Why are we not righteously indignant about that? You know what’s harmful for families? Divorce! You think gay marriage is harmful for families? Ha! Christians are causing more broken-ness than gay people by leaps and bounds. Don’t get your panties in a wad thinking I’m condemning Christian divorcees. I’m just saying we should remove the log before poking around at the splinter.
The hypocrisy of Christians regarding marriage is the first reason I usually keep my mouth shut about gay marriage. The second reason is that, quite frankly, I think American Christians have way bigger fish to fry. WAY bigger fish. Oh you know, the global orphan crisis, the high number of children in foster care in our own communities, the AIDS epidemic in sub-Saharan Africa, poverty in the inner cities, human trafficking; I could go on but I will spare you. Why are we not as virulently opposed to these things? Why are we not hearing about these from the pulpit? Where is the heartbreak, the crying out, the action committee? Why is it that when secular people are asked to describe the typical Christian, they say things like ‘anti-gay’ and ‘narrow minded’ when they should be saying ‘those folks who take in orphans, feed the homeless, and tutor ghetto kids’? Y’all, we are doing it WRONG.
I don’t get fired up when gay people get married because other things feature more prominently on my radar. I don’t have time to freak out about gay people because I’m freaking out about orphans and foster kids.
For the record, I don’t have a fully formed theology about homosexuality. I’m not convinced it’s a sin. I lean toward the ‘born this way’ faction. But even if you do think it’s a sin and you’re getting hot under the collar reading these words, I have to ask you, why??? Why does gay marriage piss off Christians so bad? I don’t get it and I don’t have time to try and figure it out. There is more important, more redemptive and more holy work to be done.

One thought on “Ain’t Nobody Got Time for That or Why I Don’t Care About Gay Marriage…

Leave a Reply

