Uncategorized

Southern Living at the Redneck Riviera

image

We have some friends who own a beautiful cabin in the mountains of North Georgia. (Isn’t it great to great to have friends with vacation homes?) We stayed there Saturday night and woke up Sunday morning to eat blueberry pancakes and drink coffee on the deck with the Cartecay River splashing and rolling behind us. I love the sound of moving water. Whether it’s crashing waves or a river running over rocks, it does my soul good to hear it.
image

After breakfast we carried lawn chairs down to the river and sat with our feet in the water. The kids splashed around in the calm, shallow water and the adults watched kayakers and tubers take their chances over the little section of rapids. It was entirely enjoyable, one of those perfect little spots of natural beauty that bring me so much bliss.
image

At one point I was standing in the water feeling the current roll past my legs. It started sprinkling and I could feel raindrops on my face and shoulders. I closed my eyes, turned my face toward the rain and thought that this is what it feels like to be truly alive. There is something healing and renewing about water and sky. I can’t get enough of either.
image

Leave a Reply

