Simple Living

Who else is worried about the economy?

Raise your hand if gas prices are making you nervous! I’m a bit of a doomsdayer, because I read a lot of history and I understand that countries can turn into starving war zones in the blink of an eye. The price of gas is absurd right now, and is definitely affecting my lifestyle. My fun money is now being put into my gas tank. What can I do about it? I can prepare to be more self sufficient.

I hear people say, “Oh, if things get bad, I’ll just plant a garden and feed myself.” Well, let me be the first to tell you that anyone who has ever had a garden knows that it ain’t that easy! There is definite skill in gardening, and you will have many failures before you figure out what works in your area.

Hunter drops sunflower seeds.

I’ve dabbled in gardening for years, but it always took a back seat to going to the barn and being with the horses. This year I have a renewed commitment to growing at least some of my own food and learning what does well in my micro climate. I have to start now to be good at it later!

Elle worked hard at planting her own garden in a fenced in area my parents built for us. I have a container garden on the deck.

Elle’s garden

I used composted horse manure to fill my containers. Finally, the horses are contributing instead of just eating!

We have squash, zucchini, peppers, cucumbers, strawberries, chard, onions and several herbs. We keep adding things little by little.

My container garden

I would encourage you to get started if you have any desire to try gardening. Anything we can do to be self sufficient and feed ourselves is a step in the right direction. Plus, it’s good for the environment and connects us to the earth!

Leave a comment