Uncategorized

Not So Simple Vacation

My husband works for a Fortune 250 company and his job is “high risk, high reward.” It’s stressful, but the company rewards employees who bring in the bucks. My husband won a contest for the first sales quarter and his reward was a trip to the Atlantis resort in the Bahamas. Our kids stayed with their babysitter and we had a four day getaway in tropical paradise.

tropical perfection

Atlantis is beautiful, but not simple at all. It is extravagant, decadent, luxuriant and over the top. We would not spend the money to go there if his company hadn’t paid for it. I mean, $80 for breakfast? Really?

view from our room

We very much enjoyed the free trip, but we agreed that we could have had just as much fun at a smaller resort with more reasonable pricing. After all, all we really need is a lounge chair and some space on the beach. And a bar. We definitely need a bar.

beach bar off the resort

The highlight of our trip, beyond the beautiful resort and the turquoise water and palm trees, was swimming with the dolphins. I have always wanted to do this and it was just as amazing as I imagined. We got to interact with 3 dolphins- Hercules, Isis and Sasha.  They were beautiful and full of personality. I loved every minute of it and I could have stayed all day. An hour wasn’t enough!

I was too cheap to buy the pics from the resort so I took a picture with my cellphone!

 

So happy in this picture!

 

Leave a Reply

